The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-18-2010, 12:49 AM   #1
AJLChase

GMCPAULS Disc conversion

Looking at getting a 6 lug power disc conversion from GMCpauls as I can keep my ball joints and tie rods. Has anyone used this kit from them? My 67 doesn't come with a brake booster so I'll have to get that as well, how complicated is it to install the booster? I see it goes just right before the master cylinder. Anything else to keep in mind while ordering/installing?
AJLChase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:19 PM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: GMCPAULS Disc conversion

You'll need a Master cyl and proportioning valve for disc brakes also.The install is fairly straightforward but be sure your ball joints and tie rod ends are good or be ready to replace them and the ball joint boots when you do the swap.Might want to anyway since they may be 40+ years old.seeten posted a video on doing a spindle swap a while back.It's a good one to see if you've never done one before,there should be more info in the FAQ's to peruse before you start.research will be your friend since it will help you avoid pitfalls and guide you thru the swap.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"

Last edited by PanelDeland; 10-18-2010 at 05:19 PM.
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:53 PM   #3
68 Stepside
huh?