The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > projects and builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-28-2010, 11:03 PM   #1
chopped65

3/4 ton back half build

This is my first build thread. The truck is a 1965 C-20 that I am retaining all the 8 lug. The front end has been converted to disk already with Brothers drop spindle disk brake kit. I already have my wheels and tires. I bought the tires first to build the truck around which are the Mickey Thomson S/R's 31x18.5x20. The wheels are Helo Maxx 8 20x10 and were sent to a custom wheel guy in Azusa, CA to be widened to 20x15 and had the tires mounted on the wheels. My axle in the truck now is the Eaton HO52 and I bought a Dana 60 off of craigslist with 4.10 gears and a locker in it. Dans Driveline in Las Vegas, NV is going to narrow the axle housing, change out some bearings inside and measure everything for Moser to build the axles. 7 years ago I bought an aluminum under bed fuel cell from Brothers so I am eliminating all the rear frame and building everything new. I will be building a box around the fuel cell and that will be the rear section of the frame.