The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-02-2010, 03:20 PM   #1
bw4sale

How do you hunt?

I'm new to piecing together a project and have never done any junkyard hunting or anything. When you are looking for something specific like a certain model trans, what do you do? Do you call the junkyards around or do you have to go look? Will they be able to tell you if they have that specific part or will the just tell you if they have a vehicle it might have come in? Do you post an add on craigslist or anywhere? 70BLAZERX2 showed me Car-part.com. Are there other resources like this? I'm looking for either an NV3500 or an AX15 5-speed for my project. Thanks.

-'68 Stepside Project
-'98 Z71 Daily Driver
-Enough extra parts to build another truck and a half
bw4sale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:40 PM   #2

Re: How do you hunt?

When I go junkyarding I go in person and just ask to walk around and look. If you find some stuff, make a list and go back to the office and ask prices. I have never had luck with asking for parts. Also, be prepared for some yards to tell you that you're not allowed to look around as it's an insurance liability. Those yards don't get my business simply because I like the hunt and the satisfaction of finding parts on my own.
70 Chevy El Camino SS396, Triple Black, 454/th400, Tach
70 Chevy Shortbox Stepside 4x4, 350/th350, Tilt, Tach, Cab Lights, Bumper Guards, Tow Hooks
70 Chevy 3/4 Longbox, 350/auto, 70k, SURVIVOR
71 Chevy Blazer, CST, 350/auto
71 GMC Sierra K2500, 454, 4 speed, 4.10 posi, 37s
71 Custom/30, Open Road, 350/th400, tilt
72 Chevy Shortbox Fleetside, 496 Stroker/th400, Tilt, Tach, Bucket Seats, 3.42 Posi