The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-05-2010, 12:05 AM   #1
mcmullinauctions
McMullin

Anyone make an upper cab patch panel?

Does anyone make an upper cab ( over the windshield rubber) patch panel interior/ exterior. For a 60-63 cab? I have an awesome cab but it has serious rust inside and out over the windshield. I have thought about finding a big back window cab and swapping the back and roof sections but I am still very new to body work. Which would be easier? A patch or new roof?
Posted via Mobile Device
mcmullinauctions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 01:07 AM   #2
Captainfab
60-66 Nut

Re: Anyone make an upper cab patch panel?

There is a patch panel available for that area, but I think they are for the '64-'66's. I don't know if they could be used on the '60-'63's. Check out Top Banana Restorations, they are a vendor here and I know they have the parts. As for the outside/roof, I would replace the whole outer roof panel. It's just a matter of a hundred or so spot welds around the perimeter. That is far easier than trying to weld across the roof panel and not warping it. If you can find a complete cab with a useable upper portion, that would be a good way to go also.
Hydroboost Mounting Plates HERE
Captainfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 01:12 AM   #3
Sixxer

Is this what you're talking about? If so this one is specific to your 60-63.

http://www.topbananaparts.com/servle...y-truck/Detail
Sixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 03:57 PM   #4
mcmullinauctions
McMullin