The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-25-2010, 09:18 AM   #1
legendary

Welder's warning...

Hello everyone! I am sure that you are having a great day! I just came across this article while doing some research on my Cummins swap for my c/10. I am sure that most of you know this already, but I found it very interesting - this guy was almost killed by a small mistake during welding. Check it out:

http://www.brewracingframes.com/id75.htm

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Many other toys as well...
legendary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:33 AM   #2
thunder71

Re: Welder's warning...

thanks man i will have to remember this...i am a welder & have used this before ,,,,never again
69 C10 shortbed stepside SOLD
71 C10 custom deluxe long fleetside SOLD
Old 12-25-2010, 10:06 AM   #3
legendary

Quote:
Originally Posted by thunder71 View Post
thanks man i will have to remember this...i am a welder & have used this before ,,,,never again
glad to be of assistance - this will make me think twice before using other fluids as well. Thank God I have not done this one
Many other toys as well...
legendary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 12:41 PM   #4
skillet

Thanks for the article, I did not know that! The first time I ever welded on some galvanized metal it gave me a terrible headache. A navy buddy of mine told me that welding or cutting on galvanized metal could produce phosgene gas. He said that's what they used in WWI, aka, mustard gas. I used a respirator the few times after that and have since decided not to weld galvanized material.
Old 12-25-2010, 02:04 PM   #5
hotrodchevy1999
Hotrodchevy