The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-18-2011, 01:21 AM   #1
cb1965

exhaust dilema!!!!!

allright guys

im new to the exhaust stuff. i have stock ram horns that are not in great shape and tubing that was botched by one of the PO's. what recomendations do you have as far as manifolds/headers and tubing, mufflers.the whole nine. i like to do things myself but have no welding experience. is there a set up for our truck that will bolt on directly. maybe attached with brackets or do you suggest taking it to a shop.
crate 350 with powerglide(will upgrade to th350 later down the road) thanks
cb1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 01:38 AM   #2
jocko

Re: exhaust dilema!!!!!

Headers are ok, but my experience is that they turn to rust quickly unless you fork over the $ to buy them coated or have them coated. And I've done that and it is nice - then I just add a collector reducer to the end and drive it to a muffler shop to ge tthe rest done.

However, if you are on a budget, I'd media blast the rams horns, coat them with something from Eastwood and stick new studs in them and go with that. Simple, works, looks good, and no headaches. My 2 cents. I think my header buyin days are about over... prefer cast iron these days.