The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-24-2011, 10:39 PM   #1
59weasel

new to this...where to start??

ok i've been holding this 59 SWB for 7 yrs. time to get rollin! i'm new to the "starting from scratch thing" so my first Question of the millions i will post is where did you all start? and where should I ? i have a complete virgin 59 frame that i want to graft a jaguar front clip to or the camaro. i want to try the jag first and if it goes south, then i'll lob it off and do the camaro. i also have the rear complete rear T/A suspension out of a 68 GMC 1/2 ton that i want to use. this will be bagged all 4 corners. not a frame dragger, but i want it to set coool when parked. so what i think i should do is get the front set in and tacked together pretty good so i can figure out how low to set the rear. i would think the front will be the lowest point so i should start there first rite?

how do i figure ride height?

do i need to put my hole body on the frame then start trying to see what looks the best then do A LOT of measuring?

i just don't want to spend a lot wasted time or $$ starting in the wrong direction.

i think i should also get the new tranny mount put in cause i'm sure it's gotta be shallower than the stock one. which will help me figure out ride height. should i set the motor and tranny in to see how far that drops the suspension, before i finalize any welding? geeeez can you tell i'm a rookie? any help or opinions? i'll take it all!!!

Last edited by AceX; 02-24-2011 at 10:58 PM. Reason: Added paragraphs to help break the questions up and make for easy reading. No txt was harmed in the editing of this post.
59weasel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 11:03 PM   #2
AceX