The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-31-2011, 08:50 PM   #1
Pyromedic

Tips When Buying First Build?

Hey all - new to the boards here and have found some great info. I'm 32 years old and finally getting ready to take the plunge on a life-long dream I've had since I saw that bada** C10 in Dazed & Confused, which of course is buying one of my own! Since this is my first time doing anything like this, I was wondering if the board could help me out and give me some tips on things to pay close attention to when buying their first build that apply specifically to C10's or classics in general? Things to stay away from, specific questions to ask seller, etc. are all the things I'm trying to find out about.

Hoping to find something with a solid frame and straight body, then swapping the engine, tranny, and suspension as I go. It will mainly be for driving around town and once in awhile making the drive in to work or out for a long cruise. Thanks in advance!
Pyromedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 09:07 PM   #2

Re: Tips When Buying First Build?

One of the basics if you're buying a "project". Wear old clothes and spend a good amount of time looking UNDERNEATH the vehicle. People spend their time making the topside look presentable, but most don't bother with the bottom.
913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 09:16 PM   #3
turp mcspray

If you spend more up front, for a nice truck, you will be money ahead in the long run. A lot of people buy $100 junkers not realizing how expensive bringing it back from the dead can be.
My Blazer build http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=342299
turp mcspray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 09:24 PM   #4
Hubscrub
Cruzin