The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-22-2011, 09:25 PM   #1
PatrickGMC70

Any help with a bad exhaust smell problem

Hey guys. I'm pretty new to this truck, and older cars in general, so I was hoping to get some help here. I'm pretty frustrated with this truck at the moment, but I'm trying to keep my cool.

The symptom is that whenever I'm near this truck when it's running, even for a short time, I reek of exhaust. It gets in your hair, on your clothes, and even gets to your eyes after a bit. It's really intolerable.

I don't know exactly what the problem(s) is/are, but I suspect that my carb is way too rich. I paid to get it rebuilt, but I think they didn't do such a great job. More on that in a bit.

I think the second problem is that I may have an exhaust leak. I haven't seen any visible exhaust smoke, but there is carbon on the manifold. Here's a pic:

Even though there's a lot of carbon, I can't see any visible cracks.

I took it to a local exhaust shop (Meineke) and they told me that there is a crack in the manifold and heat riser. I said that I couldn't see a crack, and they said that the carbon indicates a leak somewhere. They said I have to replace the manifold and heat riser (plus gasket and studs). [I should add that while I am a bit suspicious of their explanation, I'm very reluctant to call anyone a liar, when I know so little myself. I should also say that they were very courteous to me.] They said I can bring in my own parts and they'll put them on for me, but it's 2.5-3 hours of labor per side, which equals about 5-600 bucks (plus parts).