The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-30-2011, 08:32 AM   #1
ubtripn

68 Rag Joint Question or Help!?!?!?!?!

So during my conversion to power steering I deduced from the threads that I need to replace my rag joint and maybe the Steering Coupler (apparently those are different things or a rag joint is a compenent of a steering coupler) So I have some questions since I have never done it before.

1. I read the manual Saginaw (which was on the truck) had a smaller rag joint than the one needed for powersteering. Is this true? I got the bigger of the two rag joints available from Napa for my 73 power steering steering gear I am going to use and it is the same diameter as the one that was on the Saginaw.

2. I have a series of pics below of where I am at. Is the steering coupler the metal piece that fits over the shaft on the steering gear. My Saginaw has teeth all around the shaft. My 73 PS Steering Gear has a flat spot. Can I expand the metal knuckle that slips over the shaft and make it work if the teeth mate up? I want to make no comprimises since it involves steering my truck but I am apparently missing some piece or some knowledge. (Whenever that happens it usually means more money.)

3. Is there a series of pics anywhere on just how to replace the rag joint and put it back together with the new rubber piece?

4. IF I have to go with a bigger steering coupler (which I assume is the metal pice that goes around the shaft then won't I have to change the weird piece on the end of my steering column (I included a pic of that as well.)

Any help or simplification/calrification would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Name:  2011-04-29 17.29.36.jpg
Views: 760
Size:  34.9 KB