The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-11-2011, 04:01 PM   #1
Phil750

Question Painting my 86

Has anyone painted there own vehicle? I have no experience in paint or preparation. Has anyone attempted this without any experience? How did it come out. I have had all the body work done. The original color was that Chevy funky light blue for 86. The shop that did the body work said to stay with the Factory color. Light Blue is just not me. Any ideas?
The shop quoted me 4500. for repaint. I live in Phoenix! I would be willing to do all the prep work. It’s definitely going to need sanding I don’t know how much to sand down. I am willing to try it on my own.
Bottom line, is it better to just have it done professionally?
Phil750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 06:22 PM   #2
HTX86chevy

Re: Painting my 86

depends on your personal preference really. will this be your daily driver or something that would be just for show?
my 86 is my daily so i didnt wanna blow $94282863 on a paint job that would be ruined in a year or two. i got my paint job for less a grand and its decent. still needs to be wet sanded and buffed but hey i went the cheap route and it looks ok.
before when i used it as a work truck:

after:
Old 07-12-2011, 01:43 PM   #3
4pilgrim4

If you buy a compressor, spray gun, water separator, sand paper, primer, paint, clear coat and all and everything in between that is really necessary the $4500 might just be a bargain.