The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1969 - 1972 Blazers and Jimmys Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-26-2011, 08:08 PM   #1
qksilver

69 k5 QUESTIONS

I have been chasing this blazer down for over 7 years. Saw it here and there but never could get close enough. The first few years it was a really cherry survivor, then it was turned into a monster truck. Then I saw it but didn't realize it was the same K5. Currently it is a roadster. with cut down doors and lots of aluminum diamond plate used as interior side panels, caps for the doors and bed? top. Bed liner sprayed everywhere the diamond plate isn't, inside and under the tub. The body has been sprayed also with a different kind of bed liner. I know, no pics until Thursday. I looked at it in the middle of a bad thunder storm.

NO RUST, originally came from California, motor and trans was pulled. The funny thing is it popped up on Craigs list, I emailed and talked to the original owner son's. He lives 2 block away from me! We live in a smal old subdivision outside of a small town next to the back entrance of Fort Bragg. Have to say it, small world.

The questions are about getting it back to original, body wise.

The doors are cut down with no vent windows, can I use/modify burb or p/u doors?

The windshield frame looks like there was/is a cap? There are no brackets and two triangle shaped holes on either end. Anybody have some pix of where the top would mount to the windshield frame?

It hasn't had a top on it for 4 or 5 years so the body seems to have sagged, the doors are hard to open and close but the hinges are good. It needs body mounts hope that will straighten the door gap.

The son put racing buckets in it but left the console and took off all the chrome and factory bumpers.