The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-07-2011, 06:09 PM   #1
TJBrown

New to the Forum!

Been reading away for the last few weeks and decided to post my truck. Will start out with a little history.

First ride i ever had was an 84 Custom Deluxe. It was not treated very well by the PO and i spend many a weekend just keeping it running. Needless to say, i was in high school, no upgrades, just keeping it going. Had it until i graduated and needed something more dependable. I still see the old truck around town from time to time. Have tons of fond memories of that old truck and the time i had in it.

Well fast forward to about a month ago and 17 years later. I decided i needed a new project and have been meaning to get a truck. That is when i came across this on the side of the road.

85 Silverado. No Motor, No Trans. Originally came with a 305 and a 700r4. Perfect considering i had a few 350 standard bore motors at the shop ready to be rebuilt. I also had a buddy that owed me a favor on a Power Glide swap for his dragster and he happened to have a 700r4 in the corner of his shop. Looking forward to posting pictures as the progress continues. Everything was with the truck minute a back bumper, no biggy, and the wiring had not been butchered. Was happy with the find

We got the motor in yesterday along with the trans but forgot the camera at the shop.

I look forward to hanging out in the forum a lot!

TJ
Old 08-07-2011, 07:34 PM   #2
old Rusty C10
Robert Olson Transport

Re: New to the Forum!

welcome aboard! so whats the rest of the plans for that truck?

1951 International running on a squarebody chassis