The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-31-2011, 09:20 PM   #1
Slowtruk

Brake lines. Bend or buy?

Hey fellas, I'm kinda worried about the brake line aspect of my build. I see cats like Delmo and others bending theirs and looking pro, but Im not sure I could come up with the same results.

I am an IBEW electrician and am good at bending conduit with footbenders, chicago benders and sidewinders/one shots but have never learned the ways of the instrument guys and their stainless line bending techniques. I do have 5 or 6 pairs of different sized tubing benders, good quality ones too.

My question is this. Can you purchase all new lines for a 65 Chevy C-10, pre bent and flared? Pricy?

Or should I catch on of those instrument guys at work and make em teach me how to bend tube? Where would one find such tubing, and what size?

I do consider myself very mechaniccally inclined and everything I try turns out real nice eventually. But is it worth it to figure it out myself or just buy them?

Thank you for any replies, this site hss been so helpful as I start about a thread a day and this site and its members resolves every problem every time.
Slowtruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 09:32 PM   #2
markeb01
Senior Enthusiast

Re: Brake lines. Bend or buy?