The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > All 4x4 Tech & Off Roading

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-17-2003, 06:23 PM   #1
enigma2y0u

so I put a 4" lift on my 82-k10

As I said, I put the lift on. Well it seems that when I am accelerating from a stop I get a shke in my shift stick. Also it is slightly present in the whole truck. I have a short box by the way. Anyways, when I put the lift on me and my buddy pulled out the driveline a few inches past where it was going to mount up to check for length problems and that seemed fine. I don't know if this is a common problem or not. I am not a mechanic, but could I need a new set of U-joints? That is the only thing I can think of. It just seems like the truck is running rough, before when I used to stomp on the gas from a light it would get up and have a nice smooth fast acceleration. I still get the fast acceleration, but the smooth is gone.

Also I noticed a performance difference in my engine. Like there was a drop in torque in the rear wheels. This makes sense to me do to the physics of the different angles, but do any of you notice anything like that?
enigma2y0u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 09:57 PM   #2
GMC71k20

did you put bigger tires on? that would kill some torque
GMC71k20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2003, 09:13 AM   #3
Mike C