The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-31-2012, 09:44 PM   #1
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Trailer hub/wheels ???

I'm considering building a small trailer to tow behind the panel.I'm wanting to run Rallies on it to match the panel.The trailer will probably fall under 1800 maybe as low as 1500 loaded so I know it will be way over tired.I just want to be able to carry a single spare.
So does anyone know if the standard 6 on 5 1/2 trailer hub will work with a factory 6 lug wheel from a Chevy?
If not does anyone know if I can run 6 lug Chevy hubs on a 2000-3000 # trailer axle and if so,what bearings make it fit?
Thanks for any guidance.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 08:11 AM   #2
special-K
Special Order

Re: Trailer hub/wheels ???

I can say I have seen 6-lug rallyes used on trailers before. There are different axle companies,but it may be standardized. Dexter is the company I'm most familiar with. The lighter trailers (store bought) are 5-lug and mine is 5 on 5. It's a 5 x10 and is 3500#. I've been looking for 88-98 styles steel wheels for it since I mostly pull it with my '92 K3500 with styled steel wheels.
I think the rallyes will work with about any trailer axle hub. I'd ask at a trailer sales place to be sure.

GMC '67 C1500 Wideside Super Custom SWB: 327/M22/3.42 posi.........."The '67" (project)
GMC '72 K2500 Wideside Sierra Custom Camper: 350/TH350/4.10 Power-Lok..."The '72" (rolling)
Tim