The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-23-2012, 09:07 PM   #1
71chevswb

A/C system disassembly

Springbreak has come and i have been planning my springbreak with includes working on my old chevys.I have 2 A/C trucks, one I am using as a parts truck and the other is my shortbed project. I need to disassembly both A/C systems( which I have never done before) and I need some guidance and help understanding of what I need to do in order to disassembly the systems. I have been told a little about r12 and freon. So what is required, and what order is easiest to get this done.

Any help or suggestions are very helpful to me.

Thanks in advance.
Posted via Mobile Device
71chevswb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 09:40 AM   #2
mrein3

Re: A/C system disassembly

Back when it was legal to do so, one could simply crack open the AC system and let the R12 discharge into the atmosphere. You want it to hiss out so you don't blow all the oil out with it. In my opinion the best place to allow the R12 to seep out is the big fitting on the POA valve right by the firewall. The problem is, you can't buy R12 to recharge the system so now what?

What I did is converted my POA valve to run on R134a. Since I was starting with a non-AC truck I didn't have to do any blowing of R12 into the atmosphere.

I did a detailed post a while ago about how to convert a 67-72 factory R12 system to work with R134a for about 20% of what aftermarket places are charging to retro a system to your truck. I prefer to keep my truck as close to factory as I can. If you use one of these aftermarket systems, who is to say there will be parts available when something needs maintenance in the future?

Look here: