The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-15-2012, 02:36 PM   #1
Marauder_Pilot

New to old Chevs-looking at a '69 C20, any advice?

I'm looking at picking up a '69 C20 for a restoration project. Here's the pictures of the truck I have:

From what the owner tells me, the truck is complete and close to running-when last run, it was having problems with the starter and just needs a few shims to start. Also, the rear passenger wheel is locked up and there some rust in the hood and rockers-the hood may need to be replaced, but the rockers can be repaired.

Asking price is $800 OBO. Has a 3-speed manual and a 350.

So, any advice? I'm new to restorations, but I've got a decent background in automotive hobbies (Mostly in Jeeps). Anything else I should make sure to look to before buying? Ideally, I'd like to give the whole thing a light overhaul and modernization-the dream project in the end would be to repaint the whole thing, clean off and repair any rust in there, rebuild the engine and transmission, possibly convert it to fuel injection (More for reliability for regular driving than any performance needs)
Marauder_Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 02:41 PM   #2
gysgtc

Re: New to old Chevs-looking at a '69 C20, any advice?

That is a good price
gysgtc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 05:17 PM   #3
Danny Bost

Be sure to crawl under it and check the floor real well. These trucks tend to rust the floors out. Bolt on panels are easy. Be sure the rust repair is within your repair ability. Paying someone else to do it gets expensive. Good price on the truck overall.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 04-15-2012, 05:51 PM   #4
sameyrasmea72