The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-22-2012, 07:01 AM   #1
a37lesalle

To tow or not to tow

I have a 62 C-10 with a stock 283, which I believe is original. Title shows it to be a 3/4 ton and of course has the 6 lug. Suspension is stock. My question is, Will this old girl be able to handle pulling about a 26 to 28 foot 5th Wheel, without alot of modifications?
a37lesalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:02 AM   #2
markeb01
Senior Enthusiast

Re: To tow or not to tow

I am not a towing expert, but that sounds like a lot of trailer for a stock 1962 to handle. If this is just a tug to move a trailer from one spot to another it might be fine as is, but for full service vacation plans I would be doing upgrades before planning a trip. Hauling a big or heavy trailer with an inadequate tow rig is an invitation for a bad day.

IMHO the most important systems needing improvement would be the brakes, transmission, and cooling system, in that order. Disc brakes just to handle the extra weight and to avoid brake fade during summer heat. A strong transmission would be helpful, for example either an SM420 4 speed or at a minimum a TH 350 if going with an automatic (with a suitably sized cooler). A 4 or 5 speed transmission would really help a little engine provide torque over a wider speed range. And a big radiator, well designed shroud, and high flow water pump and thermostat should prevent boiling over when pulling hills.