The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-28-2012, 04:16 AM   #1
Bradydz

Weird, new problem arising..

I've got a 355 in my '64 GMC, and for the past few days, it's been having a new problem. I'll be driving just fine, no problem going a constant speed, accelerating, etc. But when I go to stop after a little while, I push the clutch in and start coasting to slow down, and all of a sudden, the engine stops. It kicks right back up when I turn the ignition to start it, and then continues to drive fine, as if nothing happened.
I'm not all that great at diagnosing problems, as I'm still learning to speak "auto". :P
Anyone have an idea of what could be happening? It's only done it 4 times in the last 4 days, and it seems to take around 15-20 minutes of driving, as it has done it near my work 3 times (which is about 10 miles), and then again tonight when I was almost home.

I will add that I do know my timing is likely off, as it likes to diesel from time to time.. Not sure if that could be a/the problem.

Thanks, guys!
Bradydz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:36 PM   #2
BR3W CITY
meowMEOWmeowMEOW

Re: Weird, new problem arising..

vacuum leak. Is it cammed? If you hit the clutch, the rev's drop and the engine can't "pick back up" . When you hit the brakes (i assume power brakes) your rev's drop, and it uses what vacuum you do have for the brake booster...lack of vacuum and the truck will die at idle or deceleration.
If you have a vacuum advance distributor, the lac of vacuum could also be part of why your dieseling.