The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-12-2012, 09:43 PM   #1
Jayschevy

Couple questions for guys laying frame with 67-72 trucks

I'm not new to bagging trucks but I am new to bagging C10 trucks. I currently have a bagged 88 Chevy and yesterday purchased a 71 C10 that I plan to bag. When it comes to bagging the C10 my 2 questions are;

What did you guys do with your exhaust? My pipes hang a whole lot lower than my frame. I just need to know what are my options things look a little tight under the truck. Pictures would be great.

Also what is my best option to lay my front out without z ing the frame or getting a dropmember? Will tublar upper and lowers work? What are my options?

Any help would be appreciated.

Here's the 71 I purchased at a great price.
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s...1/IMG_1527.jpg

Here's my exhaust
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s...1/IMG_1520.jpg

Here's my 88, will probably up for sale soon
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s...1/IMG_0251.jpg

Thanks
Jayschevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 12:53 AM   #2
N2TRUX
Happy to be here

Re: Couple questions for guys laying frame with 67-72 trucks

Welcome to the forum Jayschevy. Looks like its out with the new(er) and in with the old(er). The first thing you need to know about 67-72 trucks (and 73-87's) is the first thing to hit the ground when you go low is the front crossmember. To get your frame on the ground you will need to make some decisions on how you want to go about it.

Tubular A arms will not help at this point. The most common choice on this forum is to add an aftermarket crossmember. There are several manufacturers of bolt in or weld on style suspensions offered by our forum vendors.