The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-18-2012, 01:51 PM   #1
J.Cagle

Brake line fitting questions.....

I need to start working on my truck again and it's time to start adding new brake lines. I have no experience in this so Im needing some help. I swapped the front and rear end out of an '84 into my '64. I know I can just go to the local parts store and buy new rubber lines that go up front and on the back, but what about the hard lines? Is it better to buy a roll of tubing and do it myself? Im guessing thats my only option since things have been swapped around. What size line, and what size fittings will I need? Any advice would be great! Thanks, Jared
Old 06-18-2012, 02:36 PM   #2
70cst

Re: Brake line fitting questions.....

TTT
Posted via Mobile Device

67-72 Chevy and GMC Trucks...The Classic Truck for the Classic Folk.

1970 CST Two tone green, 402BB, 400 Automatic, Tach, Buckets, AC, AM-FM, Tilt, GM CB, GM 8 Tract, LWB, etc

JOHN 17:3...The better side of "LIFE"

Remember: Everyday is a good day...Some are just gooder!
70cst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 05:59 AM   #3
J.Cagle

Really figured someone woulda had some pointers for me.....
Old 06-20-2012, 10:57 AM   #4
1963c-10

I just measure the lengths that I need and bend them by hand. I start with the driver side rear wheel and plumb it to the "t" on the rear end. Then just work your way back to the master cylinder. If you have any of the old lines that run down the frame, that will save you some of the work on the lengths.
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=619024
1964 Short bed trailer
1963c-10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 11:38 AM   #5
jimmydean