The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-11-2012, 11:21 PM   #1
kray59

Cool steering colunm question

i was wondering and figured some of you guys would know what are the interchangeable steering columns for our year models of trucks. will all 67-72 columns fit all trucks and if not what fits what . thanks in advance , kenny . i have a 72 GMC with column issues.
kray59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:00 AM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: steering colunm question

Any column from these years should fit and work if it has the correct shifter or yoou use a floor shifter.Be more specific about what is wronng with yours and maybe someone can help get yours right and save you a few $$$$.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:15 AM   #3
kray59

Cool Re: steering colunm question

thanks for reply. i have a 72 GMC . when i traded for it there was an aftermarket column in it . a friend had a 68 parts truck and gave me the column out of it . i think some of the parts are missing because the collar bellow the one the turn signal is in will turn i'm guessing about as much as a 3 on tree would but has no provition for any shifter . the collar that the signal assembly is in will move an inch or so either way when useing turn signals. hope that is plain enough info for some advise . thanks in advance , kenny.
Old 07-12-2012, 10:52 AM   #4
ole dollor