The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-07-2012, 09:08 PM   #1
Carly's GMC

68 GMC power steering conversion

Hello, I am the proud second owner of a 1968 GMC. I got the 6 cyc. 250 running and my 16 year old daughter has taking a liking to the truck. I am now trying to gather all the parts to convert to power steering so she could handle driving it.
Would anyone know if the box from a 1983 (also 250) would fit a 1968? Each one is 11" long but i can't tell (from pictures) if the brackets would bolt up. Could anyone shed a little light on this?
Carly's GMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 09:19 PM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: 68 GMC power steering conversion

Welcome to the best reference for these trucks on the internet.Yes it will work.The Brackets are a little different for the pump but can be altered.There is info on that if you search.Get all the braackets,pulleys,hoses and such from the donor.If you clean and paint the pump and brackets,pay close attention to which spacers go where.You may want to take the alternator and brackets also as there are some differences in offset of pulleys.It's best to get everything from one setup,otherwise it will be a pain to match everything up so you get good pulley alignment.IIRC you need to use the PS Pitman arm from the year of truck(or front suspension:see PB info below) you're installing it on.
While you're sorting that out,keep your eyes open for a 67-72 PB setup.If you get the complete front crossmember off of the 83 it will bolt up and give you front disc brakes also.More info on that can be found with a search.Good luck with it and just ask if yu need more on either upgrade.