The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-12-2012, 07:31 PM   #1
62lwbc10

Serious Question - How to sell a Project

Guys I have been working on my 62 long bed step for 6 years. The cab is in my garage, where I have been welding it for years. The cab is pertty much done and has more work and money in it than I care to talk about. The rolling frame with motor and tranny is in my side yard. I have various parts all over my property in sheds, etc. About a year ago, in preparation for the big push, I spent about 5 grand on bed sides, fenders, front/reat tailgate, suspension kit, brake lines, etc. As is happens, I may need to sell the project. Im not really interested in parting it out. Am I going to take a severe beating in selling the project? I can help but think there must be someone in my area that would drool to take it off my hands. I just dont know how/where to advertise. Someone recently told me they'd give me 4 grand for it. Am I to expect to lose that much money? Anyway, Id appreciate any advice. Do I have any hope to find someone to take the project and if so, how do I come up with a realistic price?

THanks,
Mark
62lwbc10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:21 PM   #2
FetchMeAPepsi

Re: Serious Question - How to sell a Project

The short answer is YES. You have a bucket of parts to sell and you want to get back more than it's worth to someone that doesn't know the condition, the assembly, and the quality of work put into it. It's just a bucket of parts. It always costs more if you worked on it first - that's the Mechanic's law