The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-12-2012, 07:51 PM   #1
markreed

Drum Brake...Is this bad?

Just got done changing all the springs and adjusters and wheel cylinders in the rear drums. This is my first time ever working on drum brakes. I was unable to get the drums turned due to excessive wear, so I had the local parts store order me a new pair. They are normally very good and knowledgeable.

Below are two pictures that can hopefully illustrate my situation. The new drums don't come anywhere close to sealing the area. They are all the way seated on the axle shaft...The drums are 11*2 which is what I thought they were suppose to be.

Truck is a 64 GMC 1000, dana 44 rear end...6 lug.

markreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:28 PM   #2
slorio

Re: Drum Brake...Is this bad?

Markreed:
In a word, YES. They gave you Chevy drums instead of GMC drums. Did you read over the thread that I referred you to in your last post?

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=406752

The GMC drums for your Dana 44 rear end have more offset than the Chevy drums. The original drums are getting hard to find, but the link above provides two part numbers that will work. The later drums with fins have to have the lug holes drilled from half inch to 9/16", but have the offset that you need.

Hope this helps.
Regards,
Steve
New Orleans
slorio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:32 PM   #3
slorio

Markreed:
Here's the later drum on E bay. Remember you will need to drill out the lug holes, but other than that, this will solve your problem.
Regards,
Steve
New Orleans

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Raybestos-20...1e78ca&vxp=mtr
Old 09-12-2012, 08:43 PM   #4
markreed