The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-14-2012, 09:20 AM   #1
BrianPlaster

Door Hinge pin rebuild HeLp

My poor ole 72' doors are sagging and need help. I purchased a set of new pins from BroThers and took the doors off . I sprayed the current hinges in some penetrating oil and now it sits ...

How do you remove the pins ?

Also what's the normal issue with gas gauges stop working / The float ?? seems to be a common issue
BrianPlaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 09:44 AM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: Door Hinge pin rebuild HeLp

Float is a good thing to check on the fuel gage.Also the printed circuit board on the back of the cluster can build up corrosion.You can pull the cluster and clean the contact points on it with an art eraser,be gentle it's fragile.Now every truck of this era I have owned has had a bad ground that caused the fuel gage not to work.
I don't know wht to tell you about the door hinge.I need to do mine also but haven't jumped in.Cruise nights aren't over for the year and I don't want to have it torn down while I can still enjoy it.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:19 AM   #3
Sammy

BFH and a drive pin type punch hinge secured well in a vise. May even have to cut the pin into if it is mushroomed at the bottom. Much easier to find a different set if your set of hinges are toasted that bad. Seen new ones on E Bay reasonably priced and elsewhere.