The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-07-2012, 09:12 AM   #1
trimmy

A few questions from a newbie

I am getting a 1986 chevy c20 with a 454 in it on saturday. The truck is in great shape for an 86 that has lived it life in Ohio. The truck when cold idles really high how do I adjust the carb(stock quadrajet) Can I and should I swap in a new carb without changing anything else such as the intake? My only plans for the truck is delete the emissions, put a set of header/mufflers and maybe an intake/carb then drive it. Its just a truck to run to lowes in and pick up firewood and and little projects. I am a total NEWBIE when it comes to gassers/carbs I am a diesel guy. Also the owner stated the truck does not switch from the drivers tank to the passenger tank what is usually the culprit?

Thanks for your help
trimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:43 AM   #2
bk2life
Account Suspended

Re: A few questions from a newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by trimmy View Post
I am getting a 1986 chevy c20 with a 454 in it on saturday. The truck is in great shape for an 86 that has lived it life in Ohio. The truck when cold idles really high how do I adjust the carb(stock quadrajet) Can I and should I swap in a new carb without changing anything else such as the intake? My only plans for the truck is delete the emissions, put a set of header/mufflers and maybe an intake/carb then drive it. Its just a truck to run to lowes in and pick up firewood and and little projects. I am a total NEWBIE when it comes to gassers/carbs I am a diesel guy. Also the owner stated the truck does not switch from the drivers tank to the passenger tank what is usually the culprit?