The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-29-2012, 03:59 PM   #1
Smokeater88

Sand blasting

I am trying to take my 72 c-10 to bare metal. It has had 4 paint jobs one right over the other and 3 different colors. I have been through hours of sanding and a ton of sand paper. My question is can I blast the creases and hard to get to areas. I understand sand blasting can warp metals I only want to do small areas door jams and then eventually the frame. I have no experience with blasting or types of media. I have read about soda blasting and sand blasting using glass, sand walnut shells, and I'm not sure where to start. Any suggestions or how to would be great! thanks
Smokeater88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 04:03 PM   #2
sneaky

Re: Sand blasting

what about some "spray" paint remover? i think its sold as "aircraft paint remover" i've had great success getting paint off from hard to sand areas. just spray grab a beer and let it work its magic, wipe off after about half an hour, respray if needed.
sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 04:32 PM   #3
Bhelton

I would have it blasted, you'd have a ton of money in paint stripper and a mess.
If you can find someone to soda blast it, that would be the route I'd go for the simple fact of just washing it down and priming. Sand blasting you'd be cleaning sand outta cracks so it doesn't come out in your paint. Good luck either way you go
Posted via Mobile Device
Bhelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 05:46 PM   #4
fastlane

try a razor blade, my dad just figured he'd give it a shot on his corvette, worked like a charm. took him about 3 hours to do the whole car down to the primer.
Old 12-29-2012, 06:09 PM   #5