The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-13-2013, 03:19 PM   #1
low n loud

hello from the newbie

well hello everyone,

my name is mike and i am from wisconsin.
i am 15 years old and i am looking to do a 63/ 60-61 conversion truck. i want a cool truck for when i get my license. my dream truck would be a 63 short box custom cab with a hopped up straight 6. i plan to swap the hood and grill from a 60 -61 apache. i plan to put it on bags and have a rusty flat sea foam green and white paint job.

any ideas of how much money i should set aside for a project like this?
i have not been a real car guy until this last year so im still learning things

thanks
low n loud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:48 PM   #2
PoDuck

Re: hello from the newbie

It all depends on what you're going to do, and if you have the ability to touch things without fixing them completely, which I don't.

I decided to rewire my truck, replace my generator with an alternator, remove the knee knocker air conditioning system, and replace my wheel cylinders, which should have taken a weekend. A month later, I'm not finished, my doors are apart for some reason, I replaced my heater hoses, dome light, firewall pad and cigarette lighter, and am replacing my heater cables, levers and switch. My fenders are off and I'm fixing rust on them, my valve covers are painted, I have new heater hoses, thermostat, and fuel lines. I'm considering a new master cylinder, and I'm not sure what else I'll get into before I get to button things up.

It is really difficult to know how much you'll need for things unless you know all the problems ahead of time, and all the prices for the things you'll have to repair or replace.