The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Paint & Bodywork

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-06-2013, 08:23 PM   #1
blue86c10

What do i need?

First post. I have a 86 GMC I wanting to paint myself. Can someone tell me what kind of sanders, sanding paper, and other tools I will need to get started? This is my first time doing any paint and bodywork. The truck is in pretty good shape. Just got to replace cab corners.
blue86c10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 02:19 AM   #2
ETsC10
Hand Crafted C-10

Re: What do i need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue86c10 View Post
First post. I have a 86 GMC I wanting to paint myself. Can someone tell me what kind of sanders, sanding paper, and other tools I will need to get started? This is my first time doing any paint and bodywork. The truck is in pretty good shape. Just got to replace cab corners.
to the board blue86c10!

To answer your paint & body needs, I've
moved you over here to the Paint & Bodywork
forum where the metal gurus hang out.

Have fun on your project!

Forum Guidelines and Rules
Buying and Selling Code of Conduct
Become a Board Supporter!
Truck FAQ

Ellen... the boards artsy-fartsy, eclectic, truck-lovin' gal-member...
ETsC10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:58 AM   #3
msgross

welcome aboard..

I'm not brave enough to paint something myself, what are your expectations with the end result? In my opinion you might be better spending the money at Maaco.

From what I know you will get ok results from a single stage, like summit racing paint, than trying to go fancy with two stage or water based.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/sum-up300/overview/
1969 C-10 LWB (SOLD) "Project flip that truck or else"
1993 Passport, F@rd 1-ton (SOLD)"Project Cousin Eddie"

My Garage Build "The 1,000 footer"