The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-11-2013, 08:46 PM   #1
gene_champ

49 3100 ready to sandblast frame. a few questions.

hi, i am new at restoration and this is my first project. i have been reading on here for a while. now getting to work on my 49 3100. i am trying get it looking nice and still keep it as original as practical for regular use. i have it down to the frame and ready to get that blasted. i have a few questions.

what do i need to do after frame is blasted as far as prep to get ready to paint? can just i use por-15, or is there something else better if it is blasted?

how much, if any, blasting can i do on the front axle, springs, spindles, rear differential and driveshaft housing and ect without getting sand in someplace where it will be a problem?

should i completely dissemble and rebuild the front end? kingpins seem tight, but truck has been used.

i bought it from the original owner and it is mostly complete and original with 50k miles. it has the usual rust places and wear parts. i drove it for several years before starting the restore. i am having a professional repair the cab.

thanks!
Attached Images

2001 chevy impala ls 3.8l
1965 honda s90
gene_champ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 09:55 PM   #2
Dan in Pasadena

Re: 49 3100 ready to sandblast frame. a few questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gene_champ View Post
hi, i am new at restoration and this is my first project. i have been reading on here for a while. now getting to work on my 49 3100. i am trying get it looking nice and still keep it as original as practical for regular use. i have it down to the frame and ready to get that blasted. i have a few questions.