The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-13-2013, 05:19 PM   #1
48find

48 GMC to s10 fram swap

OK so i know theres plenty of people who have done it but im wanting to get a parts brake down. i have a 1948 GMC long bed and im wanitng to put it on a s-10 frame while maintaining the s-10 brakes axle and steering and fuel tank. whats involved in this process and what am i looking at as far as price goes? im not an expert welder but i have a couple years of stick welding under my belt and im a very do it yourself kinda guy. this truck isnt gonna be a show stopper just a neat little muscle truck that i can drive on the weekends and to work occasionally. im also wanting to drop a 350 SBC and a trans not sure what one yet into it as well. thanks.
48find is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 07:43 PM   #2
av8tr33337

Re: 48 GMC to s10 fram swap

Welcome to the site. I’m a first time builder as well doing the S10 chassis swap.

You can pick up an S10 for as little as 100.00 which is what I paid for basically a complete chassis with gas tank. Replacement parts are fairly abundant and relatively cheep. If you aren't going to bag it you will really just need to make cab and bed mounts, possibly find a different length drive shaft because you are going to have to move the engine back 3 to 5 inches. You will probably want to replace the radiator with a 19X22, due to the steering box invading the space that the original radiator takes up. Some guys actually kick the bottom of the radiator out and keep the stock setup.

I'm going to use an 87 Camaro drive train that I picked up for practically nothing. Had 10k on a long block engine.