The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-13-2013, 09:19 PM   #1
ecgate

Power Brakes/Vacuum????

Im looking to upgrade my brakes to power brakes but have some concerns with not having enough vacuum. What is the minimum vacuum you can run if you have power brakes. Do they make a booster that doesn't require as much vacuum to run. And if your wondering im running a bbc with a lunati voodoo cam.
ecgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 09:49 AM   #2
ecgate

Re: Power Brakes/Vacuum????

Anybody........
Old 06-16-2013, 09:53 AM   #3
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

If you're looking to go power brakes but worried about it you could look into hydro boost.Some here have done it for the same reason.The only caveat is that you need a power steering pump to run it,but if you have PS you can tap off of it.

Do a search for Hydro boost and you'll find more info.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 09:56 AM   #4
ecgate

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanelDeland View Post
If you're looking to go power brakes but worried about it you could look into hydro boost.Some here have done it for the same reason.The only caveat is that you need a power steering pump to run it,but if you have PS you can tap off of it.

Do a search for Hydro boost and you'll find more info.
I have looked at the hydro boost stuff. Too expensive. Correct me if Im wrong but cheapest setup I have found was like $900.
Old 06-16-2013, 12:31 PM   #5
Darren MagooGardner