The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-04-2013, 09:14 AM   #1
hotrodder

extended cab, and 4 door

hey guys.. I am usually on the 60=66 site, but now I need directions on doing some work on a 48. My son-in-law purchased a 48 5 window and he wants to build either a extended cab, or do a 4 door. I am a retired bodyman so I have some experience ad the tools to d the job ( I THINK!!), Anyway are there any threads on here to do this? Thanks for the help, I'm sure I will be visiting here a lot from now on!
hotrodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 10:40 AM   #2
mr48chev

Re: extended cab, and 4 door

There are a few threads and several ways to do it. I'm extending the cab I'm building now 9-1/4 inches through the doors so I can have an extended cab and run my short box on a long bed frame. With the other mods the general concept is long and low when it's done but try to look like it was intended to be that way when it's finished.

If it was a three window cab you could extend the cab behind the doors and put in a quarterwindow with a shape that matched the other window frames. I drug home a very rusted out and stripped suburban about fifteen years ago to do just that and saved the window sections from about six inches below the window openings to six inches above them for the openings. At that time I was going to extend the cab 18 inches. After seeing some extended that much I passed on the idea.

My ongoing truck projects:
48 Chev 3100 that will run a 292 Six.
71 GMC 2500 that is getting a Cad 500 transplant.
77 C 30 dualie, 454, 4 speed with a 10 foot flatbed and hoist. It does the heavy work and hauls the projects around.
mr48chev is offline   Reply With Quote