The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-21-2013, 04:48 AM   #1
jdougla9

Rear fender install

Hey guys I tried to do a search here but it isnt working for whatever reason. I am getting ready to install a 4 link in the rear of my 1952 chevy truck and need more tire clearence in the rear. I was going to cut the bedsides out and install trailer fenders to give me wheeltubs. I am a complete novice when it comes to sheetmetal and bodywork so I was wondering how I should attach them to the bedsides? I hear people say welding tubs to quarter panels will distort the quarter panel whenever I hit the gas due to the flexing involved. Should I just use seam sealer to attach to the bedside? Any help, photos would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you all
jdougla9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:27 AM   #2
lazypineapple

Re: Rear fender install

you could cut an 1.5" wide arch out of sheet metal. Weld it to the underside of the tub, then bolt or weld it to the bed side, that would hide the attachment to the bedside.
then make a lip an 1" or so to attach to the bed floor, close up the inside of the tub with a 1/2 round sheet.

I also saw a a guy use a right fender cut down on the inside of the left for the left tub. and viseversa, if you got a set of extra rear fenders laying around
lazypineapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 10:04 AM   #3
mr48chev

I've seen a few that used the inner wheel tubs from the fleetside pickups that bolt in and look proper when you are done. I've seen at least one set that a guy narrowed down as mini tubs that looked like they came in the truck to begin with.