The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-08-2013, 12:56 AM   #1
SmokeShadows

School is in session: removal of A/C

i am new to these old trucks, and everything to automotive, the only things i have done in the past is minor break/oil changes and more so electrical, so i dont have much knowledge in the mechanical portion and i am wanting to learn, alot..... but my main question right now is : how would i go about removing the ac system completely along with the heater for now, and to be more specific, what is needed to remove the components attached to the engine, like the compressor pullys and the drier etc ...... im pretty sure i have enough competance to remove them but what would i do about the belts and everything like that, would i get a smaller belt or what, im just not too sure how the engine pully assembly works, now i would also like to say i havnt done anything yet except remove all the broken cables and stuff on the inside now but i am curious on what i should do to get it all out of the way for now but still be able to start the truck up and everything, any help or tips or cautions would be greatly appreciated, i have looked but found only information on replacing/upgrading but nothing on complete removal.... like always thanks in advanced ~SmokeShadows~
SmokeShadows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:35 AM   #2
Steve Hafner

Re: School is in session: removal of A/C

. . . .

Do a search at the top of the page ( that will search this entire website )

I put in " Removing AC " and got quite a few posts.

Type in more specific items to get to the " details "

Make sure you select " 67-72chevytrucks.com " first.

. . . .
Attached Images