The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-15-2013, 09:30 AM   #1
musgrave

Hole in Lifter

Hello
Here is one more question that I'm going to throw out there, seeing that I'm a rookie at this. We took the motor apart from my 51 GMC the other night. It is a 216, not paying attention of the order of the lifters. We see that one of the lifters has a hole drilled though it. Can anyone help me with this bone headed move I just did. I cant find it any where in the manuals what order to put them in. Or dose it really matter. Thanks
musgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:44 AM   #2
Speedbumpauto

Re: Hole in Lifter

All 216's had mechanical lifters as opposed to hydraulic. My guess is the one with the hole is a replacement installed at a later date. There is no particular order to lifters other than the rule of putting a used lifter back on the same cam lobe it came from and that ship already sailed. You might be OK with mismatching them since the spring pressure on those old engines wasn't very high but you do stand a chance of wiping out a lobe or two. Keep close check on the valve lash when you put it together and run it. If one or two start to "grow" in lash, it's a good sign the lobe is going.
Speedbumpauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 10:33 AM   #3
musgrave

I had another 216 motor given to me, it was in pieces when I got it. It also has a hole in one of its lifters. Think it is to oil the cam. Thanks
Old 10-15-2013, 10:53 AM   #4
musgrave

Name:  Lifters.jpg
Views: 102
Size:  48.8 KB
Here's what they look like. Thanks
Old 10-15-2013, 12:00 PM   #5
mr48chev

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedbumpauto View Post