The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-25-2013, 10:44 AM   #1
67Steven

l92/6l80 will not start/can't read codes

I have a 2008 Hummer drive train with 13K on the clock going into a 1972 Blazer.

This is my first time with an LS motor, and I am having problems.

I did not get the ECM from the original truck, but I did send the TCM to a tuner who matched an ECM from an 08 Denali I believe and tuned it around that VIN.

I purchased a wiring harness from PSI and installed it. My problems started there. I had given Jon a list of components I had (basically stock) , and he was supposed to build the harness around there. The MAP, MAF and O2 plugs were all wrong, and I had to change the plugs to match my sensors except the O2, I purchased new units to match the harness as Jon said it wouldn't matter to the ECU. They gave me tap shift wire, but didn't want it, only 1 fan wire when I needed 2, and no provision to tell the ECU the truck is in 4lo.

I finally tried to start it last weekend, and it will crank, but not start. I tried to use my scanner, (Innova 3130c) but it will not connect. I have checked and rechecked all my grounds, verified 12v at "On" and "Crank", and that the trans plug is all the way in and not turning with the lock ring.

The noid light flashes when I crank, but only once bright, then dim, then nothing. Jon has said that the 'starter checks' are still on- would this cause all my issues? Would this not allow the ECU to communicate with the scanner? The tuner has verified that the VATS was removed, is this the same as starter checks?

Another note- I depressed the accelerator pedal and it does not move the throttle- is this due to starter checks?