The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-03-2014, 07:02 PM   #1
Masstowingllc

How can I get or figure out what plow I need or should get 1st time ever buying one

It's my first time ever buying a plow and I wanted to get a plow for my 1972 chevy c30 pickup/wrecker! I have never used a plow or hooked one up or anything I do know how to plow since I use to go with my brother in his plow truck! Since this is a old truck I am guessing I am gonna have to piece one together but I don't know where to start! What plow parts are interchangeable like hydraulics? Head gear? Push plates? Etc and are all plows the same? Should I get some parts first because all plows have the same say push plates? Or should I get blade then find the parts to go with the blade? I am a welder so i don't mind welding the blade I just ddon't want to be making a whole setup for my truck since I don't have a machine shop and don't know what to make! I would like to trade some stuff ihave for a setup!
Masstowingllc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 07:18 PM   #2
special-K
Special Order

Re: How can I get or figure out what plow I need or should get 1st time ever buying o

Ask your equipment dealer what they recommend,unless you want used stuff. I used a plow on a '71 that was made for 81-87s. This was in '84 and my partner had an '84 K20. We measured and checked and all we had to do is move it forward a bit and drill one hole on each side. This was due to the 67-72s having peaked nose and the 81-87s being virtually flat. the frame mount is the only part that matters which truck. You could take any 8' plow and adapt it to your truck.

GMC '67 C1500 Wideside Super Custom SWB: 327/M22/3.42 posi.........."The '67" (project)