The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-21-2014, 05:44 PM   #1
OESMAN

Need Opinions

Thinking of going with a low mile LS2 out of a 2011 Caprice PPV. Comes with 6spd auto, computer front and rear independent suspension basically entire car minus the body. I just got done putting a C4 rear and just purchased front C4 cross member to convert the front of my 70 SWB... I am new to LS and am also worried about how to do the rear, looks like the same one used in newer Camaro. What would YOU do. I really want to move forward with the LS but want to hear from people who have been there and done that.

Thanks, OES
OESMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 08:11 PM   #2
BR3W CITY
meowMEOWmeowMEOW

Re: Need Opinions

Change the tailshaft on the trans to a yolk style instead of the g8 style (Which I assume it has). This goes to a normal u-joint style yolk, and you can just run it to a regular truck 12 bolt, unless you have a specific reason to want to actually convert the whole rear to IRS. If thats the case, you'd be going past what most of us do in the rear. I think Frizzlefry has an IRS truck that uses the vette rear suspension.

If you are using the rear end from the caprice, then you wouldn't need to switch the output...but you're locked into using that style of joint and shaft. Does the caprice rear track fit your truck? I don't have a clue what rear they are using.

(and its not actually an ls2, as it became the l77 when it got AFM and flexfuel and was used in the NA and CA cop cars). The base is the same tho.