The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-20-2014, 08:00 PM   #1
JulioK

Delco Remy HEI firing order

I am still sorting thru numerous minor issues with my 72 stepside lwb 307. Lots of work that has been done by previous owner seems to have been a little flakey so I am slowly trying reestablish proper base setup. It has a delco Remy hei and I am fairly certain that the firing order is correct but I am not sure how to confirm where #1 is on the distributor. There are no marks that I can find to indicate where #1 is. I think the wires are in proper order but possibly one position off on the distributor.

Thanks

I am new at this so cut me some slack if I said something ignorant.
Attached Images

JulioK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 08:21 PM   #2
davepl

Re: Delco Remy HEI firing order

Number one is wherever you decide to hook up the #1 plug wire. Generally it's a case of whatever make the most sense for routing the plug wires and leaving yourself enough rotational room so that you can advance and retard the timing without the distributor running into something when you rotate it.

Otherwise, however, there's no special number 1 terminal on a old setup like this. The order matters, and the alignment of the rotor at TDC vs. whatever terminal you picked matters, but you could do them however you'd like.

FWIW, the assembly manual DOES show a preferred order (not for HEI, though, if that matters).

Firing order determines which plug wire comes next, and which after that, and so on.
davepl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 08:29 PM   #3
71swb4x4

This is the internet, where you don't know who knows what they are talking about, and who is actually smart. Dave is very smart, he must be because I agree with him.