The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-12-2014, 03:05 PM   #1
jdean

disc swap 74 into 69 c30

So I'm having a hell of a time finding a backing plate for the 69 drum setup so i'm looking closer at throwing the disc frontend from the 74 I have into the 69. Both are c30's, I think the front of the 74 has the smaller rotor setup on it, the wheels are pretty flat, not dished. Main question is, I have a new 69 master cylinder and brake booster (painted it so I can't return it) and was wondering if I could use it with the disc brake frontend if I used the valve that is in the 74? There is what looks like a proportioning valve on the 69 already right up by the master. The 74 has both sets of lines going right down to the front crossmember to a valve mounted on it. I have also put the rearend from the 74 into the 69. I know i'd be best off to just put the 74 master and booster in, but I'm trying to do this on the cheap. And already have the new master/booster that i'm stuck with. Sorry for the long post. Thanks in advance. I'll try to get pics today
jdean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 04:26 PM   #2
lolife99
67-72 parts collector,…

Re: disc swap 74 into 69 c30

Sorry but you need a disc brake master cylinder and prop valve.
The 71-72 version would be a bolt on.

Convert to disc brakes.
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=444823
lolife99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 04:51 PM   #3
71Dually

Man I have to type faster, give shorter answers or do less proofreading.

"I missed it by that much" - Maxwell Smart aka Control Agent 86

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdean View Post