The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-25-2014, 08:05 PM   #1
rhm63

Stalling on acceleration help needed

I have search the boards and tried several things but I still cant figure it out.
This truck was my daily driver in the mid 90's and it ran well, then it was parked outside(covered) until a few months ago. This is my first time working on any vehicle, I am learning as I go.

It is a 63 stepside 230 ci. Everything is stock or oem except for the new blazer tank from Brother's that I installed in the bed.

So here is what is going on. It is running rich and already fouled one set of plugs. It idles rough periodically. It is not constantly rough but once it warms up it stumbles every 20-30 seconds (rough estimate). And it stalls on acceleration. It doesnt cut off if I let off the gas or if cycle the gas pedal. It makes a whooshing sound from the air coming in the carb, and to my untrained brain it seems like there is too much air coming in, so it stalls. If I gradually press on the gas it will go to higher RPMs. I have driven it around the neighborhood and if I accelerate it seems like it is missing (could be plugs are fouled again). And if it does stall or I cut it off, it takes a few tries to get it cranked again.

Here is what I have done: New distributor and points, new manifold/exhaust gasket, vacuum advance works, new plugs, valve adjustment. New rebuilt carb, it is a Rochester re-manufactured by Holley.

The only two things I can think of is the timing or something in the carb. Maybe both. I just wanted some opinions before I go buy a timing light or tear into the carb.

Thanks
rhm63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 09:03 PM   #2
Dans66Chevy