The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-16-2014, 08:46 PM   #1
davepl

Haven't touched my truck in a month...

I've never done a full frame-off before. Ironically a lot of them wind up in boxes and baskets, but I made it all the way through to the almost end. Here's what I know I have left:

a) Fix driver's seat (upholsterer didn't use the cinch-down wires or rods, whatever they're called on buckets). Already did the passenger side.
b) Install my tilt column
c) Wire up the speed warning buzzer and reinstall the gauge clutster (again! should have put luggage latches instead of screws on it)
d) Disconnect, cut, flare, and put a union in the under-cab fuel line so I have metal line over the exhaust instead of the rubber flex section that's there now (and will stay but not over the exhaust). Kind of putting this one off, I hate gasoline. May move this to the "someone else do it" column.
e) Align headlights.

Then there's a couple of things I can't do:

a) Wheel alignment
b) First charge of AC

And I think that's it. But for some reason I just can't muster the time or interest to get out there and do it. It's not that I'm slacking, I've been rewiring network and AV stuff for all that time. But it sure seems like I'm avoiding it.

Can't be the first person to hit that wall, though maybe the first so close to the exit door! Other than the obvious "just pick something and start", which hasn't happened yet, I dunno what it is or how to get started!

Not just complainin' actually asking.
davepl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 08:58 PM   #2
57taskforce
All about them K’s

Re: Haven't touched my truck in a month...