The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-15-2015, 11:49 PM   #1
JAM1777

Restoration advice

I have a 1969 Chevy C10 longbed fleetside. I always wanted an old school truck and slowly restore it to add my character into it. Unfortunately im not a mechanic and dont know how to do body work or paint. Well i can do brakes and change hoses and do pretty much the tune up basics but not a whole lot of experience on trucks or engine's. So when i bought the truck the rear main was leaking so i decided to put a new chevy performance 290 crate in it.........I just finished my final engine break in and now im not sure what to do next. I have a guy who will do all the body work and paint in and out, but it needs a new bed. And also there is a lot of old build up on the rear end and chassie. Also its got old drum brakes and pulls really bad to the left and doesn't stop very well when i use the brakes. Sometimes it can get a little overwhelming but then i take it for a drive and i get compliments on how nice it is and how nice it sounds and it makes me want to keep going. And its got dents and primer. So long story short.....it has a new engine, what would be the next step?? Any advice would be very appreciated
JAM1777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 11:56 PM   #2
HeavyD

Re: Restoration advice

Disc swap and redo rear brakes. I have long passed the age when having a vehicle that would barely stop was thought of as "exciting" lol. Thats where my money would go next
Old 02-15-2015, 11:58 PM   #3
Greasey Harley

I'd start with the brakes and steering.
NOTHING is more important than brakes and steering. (in that order)
Figure out your budget and options, dive right in.