The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Electrical

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-25-2015, 07:08 PM   #1
par4tom

Made in USA Primary Wire

I'm an old car-audio guy from a long time back and I've been working on restoring my 61 chevy truck for almost 3 years.

I finally got to the point of rewiring the truck (headlights with relays...new wires throughout the engine compartment and to the taillights) and instead of buying harnesses from a 3rd party vendor I decided to just make and replace what I needed. I already had the strippers and connectors anyway...

So...I went to the local auto parts store and bought a couple of rolls of primary wire and let me tell you...boy is it tough to strip and work with!!! I also questioned some of the quality as I had been using Stinger and Scosche wire for years.

Frustrated, I did a little search on ebay for "Made in USA" Primary Wire and came across a company called OcapoIndustries on the East Coast offering primary wire in different gauges and in 50 foot rolls for about the same price I was spending on 25 foot rolls at the auto parts place...

The wire finally arrives and let me tell you...the difference was immediately noticeable! Not only does the wire itself seem to have a bit more copper and be more flexible, but the jacket is very pliable and easier to work with without tearing up my hands.

I don't normally do a "shout out" for a vendor or product...but I recommend this wire highly to someone who does a bit of their own wiring...
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=1#post7236896
Building Your Own Speaker Kick Pods
http://http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=730495

Last edited by par4tom; 02-25-2015 at 07:13 PM.
par4tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 07:20 PM   #2
VonDog

Re: Made in USA Primary Wire