The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-10-2015, 09:15 PM   #1
Kapote

7.4 Vortec help??

Im new to this whole idea of a 7.4 swap... I have a 2000 bus with a 7.4 Vortec in it. really low miles on the bus, and now im thinking of putting it into my 1984 K20. I need to know what is the biggest things I will run into... I feel that wiring is gonna kill me.... So what all do I need from the Wiring harness so I can run the fuel injection??? any help will be appreciated.
Kapote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 01:24 AM   #2
BR3W CITY
meowMEOWmeowMEOW

Re: 7.4 Vortec help??

The 7.4 your talking about I assume is the "Vortec7400"...which was a medium and heavy duty gas truck engine that was in stuff like c3500's. In your case, a bus (Bluebird, Navistart etc had GM contracts for these engines, as well as diesel options).

Its not really an LS motor of any sort, its a fuel-injected 454 which exists on the classic big block chevy architecture (sorta like the 8.1's that were popular in the same segment, and in some cases still are). I've never swapped a 7400 into anything, but since its on the bbc platform, the 8.1 swap info on the web is probably our best start.

lt1swap.com has an 8.1 section with pics and descriptions of his project. He also is a great resource for wiring and ecm pinouts.