The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-10-2015, 10:11 PM   #1
TurnKey

First Project & Intro

Hello everyone. My name is Nick and I'm completely new to this game but have been wanting to start a project for a while now. Got the wife on board and started my hunt for a cool truck to start with. After a couple deals fell through, a friend of mine told me that he had this '68 C20 that he sold to his parents new while working for a dealership when he was in college. It has stayed in his family ever since. His son's friend blew the engine while borrowing it, so it was completely rebuilt about 4 years ago. It's been sitting for the last 3 1/2 years. He gave it to me and I'm looking forward to getting her in to form. Like I said, I'm new to this so I'm sure I'll be around reading a lot and asking questions. I'll be picking it up on Saturday. So far all I know about it is that it has a 327 with a 4-speed manual tranny and a pretty decent rust hole in the upper windshield area (A-pillar?) And some rust in other places as well. It is also missing the tailgate, but you can't beat free.

TurnKey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 10:24 PM   #2
LockDoc
The Older Generation

Re: First Project & Intro

-
Looks like a good project. Just do some looking around for the parts and pieces you will need to do the repairs first. Then lay down a plan to get the work done. What it will take to repair the problem areas depends on how much of the work you can do yourself. Good luck on your project and do a lot of reading and asking questions.

Welcome!

LockDoc

Locksmith, Specializing In Antique Trucks, Automobiles, & Motorcycles

(My Dually Pickup Project Thread)