The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-07-2015, 01:02 PM   #1
travlinman

very ls newbe. please help advise opinions options?

Hey guys I'm very new to this ls swap thing (like last week). I have a 91 r -30 crew cab dually with a tbi 454/700r4 combo. Power windows/locks cruise etc... Motor is toast was ran without oil. So I have a opportunity to get a 04 4x4 suburban with a 5.3 4l60e delivered to me for 650. Would love to swap everything including fuel tank and lines. How simple is this swap or how can I make it simple with the parts on hand.? Figure motor and computer harness but how much of it? All underhood wiring including fuse box?
Will I be able to use my stock cluster? Need gas pedal? I really like the idea of the rear tank and since I have to replace the tanks anyways why not? The tanks were drained when the motor went and caps were left off so I'm sure there's moisture in them. Can I just extended my current pump harness to the new rear tank?
Can I incorporate the new computer harness and keep all my power and cruise inside? Can I keep my 700r4 since the 4l60e is a 4x4 with transfer?
Overwhelming. ..
Any advice or opinions on my options would be very helpful
Thanks
82 c30 crew cab dually ( now building )
91 r30 crew cab dually (parted and gone)
69 swb-sold
71 lab sold
all in progress......__
..........._______ |__\__
..........|__(O)______(O)] ........................
travlinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 08:41 PM   #2
BR3W CITY
meowMEOWmeowMEOW

Re: very ls newbe. please help advise opinions options?

This early in your swap, I'd go back and take a look through some of the builds and FAQ. Most of what you need has been covered, in more detail than I can easily type here at one time.